John Adams: Opera Choruses - Volume 2

Add to Cart Add to Wish List

View Closer Look

John Adams: Opera Choruses - Volume 2

Composer: John Adams
Series: BH Large Choral
Publisher: Boosey & Hawkes
Format: Softcover


Boosey & Hawkes is pleased to present a three-volume collection of John Adams's choruses from his world-renowned operas, edited by conductor Grant Gershon, featuring choral selections from six iconic stage works with newly arranged piano accompaniment by Chitose Okashiro.

Adams's stage works are repertory staples at opera houses across the world, celebrated for their exceptional craft, emotional resonance, and urgently relevant subject matter. The LA Times described the role of Adams's choruses in his operas as a powerful narrative and emotional driver: “They are the weather. They are memories. They are dreams. They are fears. They are history. They are the governors of emotion.”

Volume 2 features choral selections from three of Adams's most celebrated operas: Nixon in China, a dramatic imagining of President Nixon's epochal 1972 trip to China, Doctor Atomic, which visits physicist J. Robert Oppenheimer in the days before the testing of the atomic bomb, and A Flowering Tree, an adaptation of South Indian folktale about a beautiful girl who transforms into a tree. Selections include the hypnotic opening of Nixon in China leading into the chorus “Soldiers of Heaven,” the darkly dramatic “At the Sight of This” from Doctor Atomic, and the brilliant “Flores” from A Flowering Tree.

Listen to °Nixon in China° on Spotify

Listen to °Doctor Atomic° on Spotify

Listen to °A Flowering Tree° on Spotify

View Instrumentation

Inventory #HL 48024925
ISBN: 9781705110690
UPC: 840126939330
Publisher Code: M051485734
Width: 9.0"
Length: 12.0"
108 pages

Prices and availability subject to change without notice.