Mosaic in Ten Pieces (With Dedications)

Add to Cart Add to Wish List

Mosaic in Ten Pieces (With Dedications)

Viola and Piano

Special import. May not be in stock in the U.S., but can be ordered on request. Price subject to change. Additional shipping and handling charges apply.

Composer: Richard H. Walthew
Series: Boosey & Hawkes Chamber Music
Publisher: Boosey & Hawkes
Format: Softcover


New edition of this charming suite by the British composer Richard Walthew (1872-1951), originally published in 1900. The work was frequently performed by Lionel Tertis over his long career; his fingerings and bowings are of great interest to students and scholars, so these are included for reference in the viola cue stave in the piano score; the viola part itself is left 'clean' for performers to make their own decisions

In 1943 Tertis premiered A Mosaic in Ten Pieces in the version for viola and orchestra in a concert broadcast by the BBC. The performance was reviewed in the Musical Times: “It is the work of a happy craftsman, genial, jesting (so few composers joke now). In a slow movement Walthew is at his serene best. Brahms would have enjoyed the Valsette, and Elgar beamed upon other parts. Tertis's phrasing is the best lesson I can imagine for any young musician...”.

View Instrumentation

Inventory #HL 48024311
ISBN: 9780851629582
Publisher Code: M060128028
Width: 9.0"
Length: 12.0"
40 pages

Prices and availability subject to change without notice.